Oscar Nominees Round-Up

4 March 2010 at 20:04 (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

With the Oscars coming up on Sunday, I thought it might be advantageous for readers to have a list of previous blog entries by myself and friends that discuss nominated films and actors. Below is a list of entries with Oscar 2010 ties:

District 9
District 9 in South Africa
Unanswered Questions in District 9
The Antagonist as Corporation – Part 2
An Education
The Young Ladies of Toronto
Analyzing Your Girlcrush

Inglorious Basterds
Inglorious Basterds: The Review
A Serious Man
A Serious Man: Sound and the Coen Bros.
The Lovely Bones
Peter Jackson’s Girls:The Lovely Bones and Heavenly Creatures
Nine
Previews: “Nine”
Precious
my thoughts on “precious”

I’d love to see some awards go to The Hurt Locker (especially Kathryn Bigelow) and Inglorious Basterds, two films that are nothing if not audacious. I’m also pulling for the Academy to give some love to Jeff Bridges for his turn in Crazy Heart. Maybe this year, the little guys will put up a good fight against this year’s giant, Avatar.

3 Comments

  1. Alyx Vesey said,

    I just saw “Crazy Heart” and wanted to know what you thought about it. I remembered you were going to see it when I last saw you. I thought it was booooooooring. I also had huge blog-related issues with Maggie Gyllenhaal’s character that I anticipated I’d have.

    I agree that it would be nice for Bridges to win, but this movie left me wishing he got nominated for “The Big Lebowski.” It’s that perennial Oscar problem of wanting certain actors to win but not for the parts chosen. At this point, I want Colin Firth to win for “A Single Man,” but am resigned to being happy for Bridges’s probable victory.

  2. c8ic8 said,

    Hey Alyx,

    I enjoyed Crazy Heart, but I definitely agree with your feeling that The Big Lebowski was a better performance on Bridges’ part. Maggie Gyllenhaal was okay, but I had a hard time buying the relationship between her character and Bridges’ character. On the whole, I think the main reason I liked the movie was because of the music and Bridges’ performance, but ultimately it’s a pretty forgettable film.

    I’m thinking about doing a post on how this film (and others like The Wrestler, Big Fan, etc.) all seem to be about a clash of masculinities. They also seem fixated on working classness and aspirations for fame.

    I look forward to seeing what you have to say about Maggie G’s character. I’m sure it will be insightful!

  3. Jean Craddock, “music journalist” « Feminist Music Geek said,

    [...] back to Crazy Heart. As I mentioned in a comment I left on Caitlin at Dark Room’s Oscar round-up, I thought this one was pretty boring. Very “for your consideration,” but with [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

