Local Flavor

31 January 2010 at 14:20 (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , )

Periodically, I like to return to my Pendleton, Oregon, roots virtually by reading the web-version of my hometown paper called the East Oregonian. Reading the local news has instilled in me a sense of local pride, not so much in the city’s Western history and Rodeo traditions (though I do have a close connection with these characteristics) but more so because of the terrific work that folks who are from and of my community have gone on to do. Many of my friends and family have been a part of a local arts renaissance, creating their own bands, exhibiting their art, and bringing in talent from out of town to share their work.

Several folks have ventured outside of the community to produce interesting media as well. This post pertains to those individuals, whose work has surprisingly intersected with my own interest in horror. Reading the East Oregonian today, I was intrigued by the story of Michael Clinkenbeard, a former Pendleton resident who worked his way up from production assistant driving around Anthony Hopkins to owner of an upstart production company called Tempest Entertainment, which specializes in low budget horror films. Below is a trailer for their film Phantoms.

According to the EO article, Dario Argento complemented the above trailer. I’m not sure how much stock I’d put in such praise due to Argento’s latest work. Still, the trailer shows some visual flair through slick shot compositions in spite of the low quality sound.

And speaking of sound, another former Eastern Oregon native, my good friend Christopher Thomas, is building a name for himself as a film composer. Some of his earliest credits have been on horror films. Closest to my heart is his score for the documentary Zombie Girl: The Movie, which follows girl horror filmmaker Emily Hagins of Austin, Texas as she directs her feature-length zombie film, Pathogen. See the trailer of Hagins’s film below followed by the Zombie Girl trailer featuring Thomas’s score:

Chris’s work most reminds me of Danny Elfman‘s scores for Tim Burton, such as the Alice in Wonderland teaser below (for more on Alice, see my friend Kristen’s post from her blog Act Your Age):

I look forward to seeing what Chris will do next, and I hope he doesn’t stray too far from the genre I love.

Leave a Reply

